My 5 Go-To Breakfast Ideas

I have never been a breakfast-skipper, because I just love breakfast foods way too much to miss out! Not to mention it’s so important to fuel yourself to start the day off. Getting a great start to your day from what’s in your bowl or on your plate can really set the tone for the rest of the day, nutritionally speaking and otherwise.

So here are my top 5 go-to breakfasts which I like to switch around to keep things interesting during the week!

(1) Overnight Chia Pudding

This is one of my most recent favourites. Preparing this the night before in a mason jar is perfect for a Monday morning where you just want to roll out of bed and go. I add a little bit of maple syrup, vanilla extract and coconut flakes and then top it with some thawed mango pieces or berries. Chia seeds are high in fibre, good fats and protein but it’s often hard to eat enough of them to get the benefits. This breakfast option is a great way to start the day with a serve of seeds, dairy and fruit too!

Recipe here.

a1207eec_shutterstock_308898437
Image: Pop Sugar

(2) Porridge

This is my winter alternative to the chia pudding. Oats are filled with soluble fibre which slows the movement your brekky through your digestive system helping you stay fuller for longer. I like to use instant oats with milk on the stovetop, adding in cinnamon, banana and a little bit of honey or maple syrup. Topping off with some crunchy almonds to get that extra bit of protein and good fats into my morning meal.

 

capture4
Image: @stefanievalakas

 

(3) Pancakes

My pancake recipe is usually exclusively saved for Sunday mornings or holidays when I have a little more time on my hands. I’m loyal to my wholemeal spelt flour, banana, walnut and cinnamon pancakes. But, I’ve also been experimenting with almond meal pancakes, which are also dairy free (I like to add yoghurt on the side). Using wholegrain or milled nuts or even blending rolled oats as the base of the pancake adds loads of fibre as well as vitamins and minerals. My favourite pancake toppers are, of course, seasonal fruits!

Recipe here for almond meal pancakes.

capture5
Image: @stefanievalakas

 

 

(4) Avocado toast

Oh yes, the meal that is preventing Sydney-siders from buying the average priced home, or so they say. Stay at home and make your own instead! I like to use a good quality olive sourdough, topped with avocado, cherry tomatoes, a crumbling of feta. Drizzle with olive oil, and sticky balsamic fig glaze and sprinkled with oregano. Getting in my veggies early with this breakfast filled with heart healthy fats.

 

capture6
Image: @stefanievalakas

 

(5) Omelette

Another protein-packed meal to keep the hunger at bay for the morning. Eggs are a crowd favourite when it comes to breakfast, and also dietitian’s dream because it’s a great opportunity to add loads of veggies to get towards your 5 a day. Adding in spring onions, capsicums, spinach, mushroom or whatever is in the fridge with some herbs makes it a nutritious breakfast option. Serve with toast, grilled tomatoes or avocado to really boost that veggie intake.

 

garden-veggie-omelet-1024x685
Image: NY Nutrition Group
Leave a Reply

